30 Cars Contest Wakefield Park 1 Hour Enduro 21 September

As a sponsor of Production Touring Cars we were pleased to see a large grid of 30 immaculately presented cars starting with our car 71 performing strong at the font of class A2, running flawlessly again over the entire weekend and during the enduro thanks to the superior LA Lubricants used.

The Prod Touring Race Report is below.

Thomas wins Wakefield Park 1 Hour

Dylan Thomas drove a fast and hassle-free race to win the Wakefield Park 1 Hour enduro while Chris Reeves took over the championship lead at Round 6 of the Shaw Vineyard Estate NSW Production Touring Car Championship.

Thomas lead the field home after 49 laps of the Goulburn circuit as Leigh Burges and Graeme Shaw made for an all-Mitsubishi Evo podium, while last start round winner Aaron Seton failed to finish after a differential failure at the halfway mark.

Seton, who had lowered the lap record in each of the Saturday sprints, was the early leader from pole position in Sunday afternoon’s feature race as Thomas ran his own race in second place.

The CXC Global driver emerged with the effective race lead when most of the field opted to take their compulsory pit stop under the only safety car period of the race, while Seton was jumped by five cars in the lane after a tardy stop.

Worse was to befall the third-generation racer when he retired shortly after with his car blowing smoke, marking the third-generation racer’s first defeat in the state championship.

Thomas inherited first place as the final cars pitted with just over a third of the race remaining, managing a lead which fluctuated about the 10-second mark for the balance of proceedings as he took a second endurance race win of the season after winning at Bathurst with father Dave at Easter.

Burges managed to claim runner-up honours despite sliding off the circuit on oil dropped by Trevor Mirabito at the quarter-hour mark. Luke Searle, Greg Symes, and the lapped Nick Cox, followed Burges off at Turn 10 simultaneously, the latter’s failure to escape the gravel trap necessitating the safety car.

Shaw kept his nose clean to complete the podium, while Robert Coulthard beat Steve Hodges to fourth in an entertaining battle for Class A2 honours.

Reeves, 18th in the enduro, again won Class D and thus took over the championship lead after Hodges suffered a flat tyre during the sprint races.

The championship concludes with another 1 Hour enduro at Sydney Motorsport Park on 25 and 26 October.